Careers & Awards

Ming-Jun Li Wins 2023 John Tyndall Award

NEW JERSEY — IEEE Photonics Society, and Optica (formerly OSA), have named Ming-Jun Li, a Corporate Fellow at Corning Incorporated, USA, the 2023 John Tyndall Award recipient. Li is recognized for “seminal contributions to advances in optical fiber technology.”

“Dr. Li’s work revolutionized the telecommunications landscape, …

2022 IEEE Photonics Conference Recognitions

The 35th IEEE Photonics Conference was held November 13–17, 2022 in Vancouver, BC, Canada. The conference has long been recognized for its technical preeminence in the field of optics and photonics, but is more than just a scientific conference; it is the annual meeting of …


The Center for Scientific Research and Higher Education of Ensenada (CICESE), calls for an open competition to occupy a tenure-track position at its Department of Optics of the Division of Applied Physics.
The Department of Optics is a well-established department of more …

2022 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Electrical Engineering Laureates

IEEE Photonics Society Fellows, P. Daniel Dapkus, Ph.D. and Russell Dupuis, Ph.D., are the 2022 Laureates of the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Electrical Engineering.

P. Daniel Dapkus center of photo and Russell Dupuis pictured left of Dapkus. Photo Credit: Franklin Institute

They have received this honor for …

Martin Dawson elected as Fellow Member of the Royal Society

10 May 2022

Professor Martin Dawson, Director of Research at Strathclyde’s Institute of Photonics and head of the Strathclyde-hosted Fraunhofer Centre for Applied Photonics, has received the accolade in recognition of a research career of more than 30 years, in which he has become a leading international figure in his …

How MIT’s Muriel Medard Pioneered the Universal Decoder

It is expected to increase the efficiency of AR devices and 5G

Network coding pioneer Muriel Médard calls herself a pathological optimist. The MIT electrical engineering and computer science professor’s positive thinking has led to new ways to improve tried-and-true techniques in the field of information …

Deep Jariwala Announced as an Award Recipient of the 2022 Sloan Research Fellowship

He was recognized for his creativity, innovation, and research accomplishments as members of the next generation of scientific leaders.

Awarded annually since 1955, the fellowships honor extraordinary early-career researchers in the United States and Canada whose creativity, innovation, and research make them stand out as the …

Boltasseva, Purdue University, Receives Guggenheim Fellowship

Alexandra Boltasseva, the Ron and Dotty Garvin Tonjes Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Purdue University, is among a diverse group of the 180 honorees in the 2022 class, which was chosen from a pool of nearly 2,500 applicants. Guggenheim Fellows are appointed on …

Royal Academy of Engineering Inducts IEEE Photonics Society Fellow, Professor Nabeel Agha Riza

IEEE Photonics Society Fellow and Chair Professor of Electrical & Electronic Engineering, Nabeel A. Riza of University College Cork, Ireland was inducted into the Royal Academy of Engineering, UK’s National Academy of Engineering. Induction to the Academy is a prestigious UK honor awarded to high impact engineering professionals. Membership is diverse and includes Nobel Prize winners and UK’s Lewis Hamilton, 6-time Formula One Racing World Champion. Riza was elected as a global prize-winning inventor of light-based technologies including invention of the all-digital fault-tolerant fiber-optic equalizer deployed in the global internet. Sir Jim McDonald, President of the Academy stated: “Our Fellows represent the best of the best in the engineering world.” The induction ceremony was held 11 October, Prince Philip House, London.